constellation

Glamour and grotesque

I had my first lecture on the Glamour and Grotesque.The lecture was interactive and almost a workshop style which I found very informative and constructive to my learning style.

We looked at 1920’s and Glamour including some photo’s of Marlene Dietrich and Greta Garbo, these woman were icons of their day, showing intrigue and  demur.

Following this lecture I have realised there are very set ingredients to being glamourous; these include certain textures, images, light and tone which give the viewer or recipients a reflection of glamour.

I found identifying in the lecture the key images of this era and glamour were silver, black and white and shiny materials using light and tone, geo,metric lines, oriental, foreign and the exotic to portray these images.

This learning has given me a clearer understanding of how to use glamour within my work , looking at using more parian clay (shiny) rather than plain porcelain which is not self glazing in style. This may highlight the use of glamour on a figurative sculpture.

Leave a Reply

